an ASP.NET Open Source CMS & eCommerce platform
Search:
Skip Navigation LinksHome > DotShoppingCart Forums > Support > Using DotShoppingCart > Delete a Block from the DB?
Last Post 4/29/2008 11:05:28 PM By rampar. 7 replies.
4/29/2008 12:52:07 AM
rampar
Posts: 32
Joined: 4/23/2008
Delete a Block from the DB?

On one of my .aspx pages, I created a block, but as I was Advanced editing it I messed up <img src="/FCKEditor/editor/images/smiley/msn/cry_smile.gif" alt="" />.  Now, clicking on the tab errors out.  Is it possible to delete the Block from dbo.DSC_Block and that will remove it from the page?  Or where else would I need to remove it?

Sorry and Thanks!

4/29/2008 7:46:57 AM
lukezy
Posts: 2109
Joined: 6/12/2007
Location:WA, US
Re: Delete a Block from the DB?

You don't want to delete the Block from the table because the block contain has the reference to the block. Try fixing the data column for that record in the DB back end.

DotShoppingCart Staff
4/29/2008 8:34:56 PM
rampar
Posts: 32
Joined: 4/23/2008
Re: Delete a Block from the DB?

I've tried everything to change the "data" field, but it's Read Only.  Can you help me out on how I can change this?

We're supposed to go live tomorrow night and this is killing me!

Thanks!

4/29/2008 8:57:02 PM
lukezy
Posts: 2109
Joined: 6/12/2007
Location:WA, US
Re: Delete a Block from the DB?

It's an xml field. Try using SQL statement directly. E.g. Update dbo.dsc_block set data = '' where blockid = ddd.

BTW, after you give live, would you like to post your site under Show and Tell at the Customer Gallery? We are trying to build up our customer gallery.

DotShoppingCart Staff
4/29/2008 10:28:33 PM
rampar
Posts: 32
Joined: 4/23/2008
Re: Delete a Block from the DB?

Ok, I did that and now I can't even get to the website.  It gives me the "Internal Error Occurred..." page.  And I can't get emails on what's going on!  Is there another way to find out what the error is besides having it emailed to me?  Also, what is the original Admin email address in the My Account settings?

Thank you so much for all your help.  I'll definately post this up as soon as I get it finished!

4/29/2008 10:38:20 PM
lukezy
Posts: 2109
Joined: 6/12/2007
Location:WA, US
Re: Delete a Block from the DB?

Check this thread.

DotShoppingCart Staff
4/29/2008 11:00:41 PM
rampar
Posts: 32
Joined: 4/23/2008
Re: Delete a Block from the DB?

It says SQL Service Broker is not enabled.  I'm checking out Technet right now to see how to enable it.  I don't know exactly what I could have done to disable it.  But if you know, let me in on it as well so I don't do it again!

Thanks!

4/29/2008 11:05:28 PM
rampar
Posts: 32
Joined: 4/23/2008
Re: Delete a Block from the DB?

Figured it out.  In case anyone is wondering, if you have to restore your database it disabled SQL Service Broker

To Enable it
ALTER DATABASE your_db_name SET ENABLE_BROKER

To Disable it it's "DISABLE_BROKER"

Thanks!